A and A's Movie A Day

Watching movies until we run out.

Movie 250 – And Now For Something Completely Different

And Now For Something Completely Different – November 5th, 2010

I am once again off to visit a friend in another state this weekend, necessitating a little bit of fancy footwork when it comes to movies. We had four options open to us: Watch a movie we have both in digital form and DVD so I could watch it on the bus, watch a movie my friend owns so we could watch it separately, watch it before I left in the morning, or watch it just after midnight. We opted for the last, and since we were watching a movie at midnight we decided to watch something we know well. Well enough to be able to quote it all from memory. What better than a collection of refilmed Monty Python sketches packaged in movie format?

Let’s face it, there is nothing in this movie that any run-of-the-mill Python fan hasn’t seen a million times. It’s all stuff from seasons one and two, which we also have on DVD. It was made as a sort of Python primer, which is great and all, but it means it doesn’t have any new material or even really remixed. A few sketches have slightly altered lines, like the end of the Lumberjack Song, but it’s not like we’re watching this in German.

Not that it makes this any less funny! The first two seasons of Monty Python had some truly great material. Classic stuff like the parrot sketch and the upper class twit race. And the versions in this movie are certainly well done. It’s a little odd at times, seeing them more polished and practiced. The crew knows what they’re doing here and it all feels a little less madcap and more rehearsed, but in a subtle way. I’m not sure how I feel about it, I guess. I mean, it all looks good. There’s nothing wrong with it. The funny stuff is still funny and the bizarre stuff is still bizarre. It’s just ever so slightly not the same.

Really though, it’s good to see the old stuff all in one place. Having seen as much of the show as I have, as frequently as I have, it’s clear I’d have to enjoy it to watch it. Putting it all in one place just means I don’t have to go hunting through the episodes for some of the choice sketches. I can just put this in and sit back and know precisely what’s going on regardless of whether I have my eyes on the screen. It almost feels like a cheat, to be honest. Like we stuck in our Python season one discs and managed to randomize the sketches on them as background noise.

This isn’t a movie with a plot. This isn’t The Meaning of Life or The Life of Brian. The closest you get to cohesive here is Graham Chapman showing up and declaring things too silly, which is more a means of transition than a plot thread. It’s not supposed to have a plot or consistent characters or anything like that. It’s supposed to be an extended episode. A best-of compilation to please and pique the interest of an audience (depending on prior Python exposure). I feel like I should say more, like explain my love of Python sketches and whatnot. But maybe I’ll save that for the Hollywood Bowl show, which I cannot find on our list but I could have sworn we owned. And if somehow we don’t own it? We will. How on Earth can we call ourselves Python fans otherwise?

November 5, 2010 - Posted by | daily reviews | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

