A and A's Movie A Day

Watching movies until we run out.

Fargo

October 18, 2011

Fargo

This was the third Coen Brothers movie I ever saw. The first was of course Raising Arizona. I was completely blown away by that when I saw it. Then i went to the theater to see Barton Fink because it was from the same directors and I was befuddled and confused – which I think was their intention with that film. After that strange experience I wasn’t sure what this movie was going to be like, and perhaps I had begun to get some inkling of just how varied and unpredictable the Coen Brothers movies can be. When this came out on video I was working at TLA in Pennsylvania and I resisted seeing it for a long time. I knew it was a dark, violent movie that was marketed as a kind of black comedy. I didn’t much want to see a strange black comedy full of violence, but after I had so many co-workers and customers rant about it I had to see what the fuss was about. Boy am I glad I eventually did, because this movie is something exceptional.

Ultimately this movie ended up being one of my favorite Coen Brothers films. It was one of the very first DVDs I ever bought back in 1997 (although that disk has gone missing and I had to buy a new copy for our project when I wanted to watch it again.) After watching this film I pretty much decided that I’d be willing to go out on a limb and watch anything the Coens cared to make. Their aesthetic is so unique and their viewpoint is so interesting. You never really know what you’re going to get with a Coen film, but you know it’s going to be something special.

(placeholder)

October 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

